Home  |  Products  |  Digital Multimeters  |  AM-500 Digital Multimeter Series  |  

Amprobe AM-530 True-rms Electrical Contractor Multimeter

Click here to watch video

AM-530
AM-530
AM-530
The Amprobe AM-530 autoranging digital multimeter is the multimeter of choice for professional electrical contractors. The AM-530 is a True-rms digital multimeter so it accurately measures voltage on systems affected by harmonics. With its full menu of digital multimeter features, you can use it to: measure and verify the presence of voltage before connecting new equipment or performing repairs; run new wiring; check continuity of electrical connections; identify blown fuses; troubleshoot motors or check transformers. The CAT III 600V safety rating provides an extra measure of safety for high voltage multimeter applications. Its built-in flashlight helps you see wire colors in the dark and “third hand probe holder gives you an extra hand when you need it.


AM-500 AM-510 AM-520 AM-530 AM-560 AM-570

Multimeter Type Auto-ranging Com / Res HVAC Electrical Adv. HVAC Industrial
F
U
N
C
T
I
O
N
Safety Rating Safety CAT III 600V CAT III 600V CAT III 600V CAT III 600V CAT IV 600V
CAT III 1000
CAT IV 600V
CAT III 1000
Measure voltage in noisy environments True rms



Electrical panels, AC outlets AC Voltage (V) 600 600 600 600 1000 1000
DC systems, auto/marine batteries DC Voltage (V) 600 600 600 600 1000 1000
AC Current - electrical panels, appliances AC Current (A) 10 10 10 10 10 10
DC Current-electronics, DC motors DC Current (A) 10 10 10 10 10 10
Specified resistance and continuity Resistance (MOhms) 20 40 40 40 60 60
Flame sensors Microamps
Diodes in AC to DC converters Diode Test
Fuses, lightbulbs, wire connections Continuity
Household batteries Battery test



Motor startup or run capacitors Capacitance
Frequency verification Frequency
Non-contact voltage test Non-contact voltage
Electrical load-time on vs time off Duty cycle


Temp of air vents, fuses, transformers Temperature inputs

1 1 2 2
F
E
A
T
U
R
E
S
Automatically selects measurement range Autoranging
Manually select measurement range Manual ranging
Voltage on variable frequency drives Low pass filter



Detect stray voltages Low Z




Dimly lit areas Built-in flashlight
D
I
S
P
L
A
Y
Meter resolution LCD Counts 2,000 4,000 4,000 4,000 6,000 6,000
Dimly lit areas Backlight
Monitoring fast changing signals Bar graph

Two relative measurements on one screen Dual display



E
V
E
N
T
S
Data memory Data hold
Difference between two measurements Relative reading
Max/min peak measurement Max/min hold

Specialized signal measurements Peak hold (crest)



Amprobe AM-530 True-rms Electrical Contractor Multimeter is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 17.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy to use and very convenient I purchased the Am-350 and first things first it is a great multimeter for small projects to everyday use witch I use it for at work and the true rms feature is a very useful in my everyday work I encounter if you an electrican like me I truly recommend this product by amprobe
Date published: 2018-07-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice multimeter I use this meter daily and I have to say it is every bit as good as fluke meters plus I really like the true rms as well thanks for a good quality product that assists me in my job!
Date published: 2018-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent layout and easy to use!!! This meter is excellent to use as a teaching tool. I instruct an electrical course and I make a firm statement to buy a quality meter for to the students. This meter is an excellent choice for the budgets of the students.
Date published: 2018-07-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well worth the money, Extremely pleased with my purchase. Extremely full featured, nearly perfect for its price-point. Got it for both hobbyist tinkering and occasional handyman work and everything I could ask from a meter is possible and easy to handle with the AM-530. A few quirks keep it from being 5/5, but they're far from dealbreakers. First the lag on the continuity can be a little annoying. The second is the layout, I mainly work in DC so to check voltage I have to set it to Voltage and then select AC every time, which seems odd because all of the Current measuring defaults to DC. I'd much rather have two positions on the dial for Voltage and have Fahrenheit and Celsius consolidated into one dial position.
Date published: 2018-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Novice user This unit is very easy for a novice to use. Great product.
Date published: 2017-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Tool Excellent precise, durable and reliable tool at reasonable price.
Date published: 2017-04-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Product except one small thing I really like using this multimeter. It is great for both school and work. The only issue I have is that it does not come with extra 500mA/1000V fuses, which would be nice especially since they are hard to get in many areas. You can adjust the decimal setting to compensate though.
Date published: 2017-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Accurate I am tired of buying meters that are not accurate but this one proven to be accurate time after time
Date published: 2016-01-18
  • y_2018, m_8, d_12, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_17
  • loc_en_US, sid_74035, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_amprobe
  • True-rms technology improves accuracy in electrically noisy environments
  • Measures AC/DC voltage up to 600V, AC/DC current, resistance, frequency, capacitance, and temperature
  • Non-contact voltage detection enhances safety
  • Audible continuity quickly identifies shorts and opens
  • Diode test to verify diode polarity
  • Data hold freezes the reading on the display for further analysis
  • MIN/MAX recording records min/max measurements over time to show voltage fluctuations
  • Relative zero mode displays the difference between the actual reading and a stored reference value and may be used with any function or range
  • Combines user friendly features such as, auto power-off to conserve battery life, low battery warning, a “third hand test probe holder, built-in test leads storage, a built-in flashlight, and a Velcro strap to hang the meter
  • Auto and manual-ranging delivers maximum flexibility
  • Backlit LCD display with analog bar graph makes it easy to view results
  • CAT III 600V safety rated
FEATURE AM-530 Best Accuracy
True-rms X
AC Voltage 400 mV, 4.000 V, 40.00 V,
400.0 V, 600 V
+/- (1.0 % rdg + 3 LSD)
@ 45 Hz to 400 Hz, 4 V to 400 V ranges
DC Voltage 400 mV, 4.000 V, 40.00 V,
400.0 V, 600 V
+/- (0.8% rdg + 1 LSD)
@ 4 V to 400 V ranges
AC Current 400.0 μA, 4000 μA,
40.00 mA, 400.0 mA,
4.000 A, 10.00 A
+/- (1.2% rdg + 3 LSD)
@ 400 μA to 400 mA ranges, 45 Hz to 400 Hz
DC Current 400.0 μA, 4000 μA,
40.00 mA, 400.0 mA,
4.000 A, 10.00 A
+/- (1.0% rdg + 2 LSD)
@ 400 μA to 400 mA ranges
Frequency 10 Hz to 10 MHz +/- (0.1% rdg + 4 LSD)
Resistance 400.0 Ω,
4.000 kΩ, 40.00 kΩ, 400.0 kΩ,
4.000 MΩ, 40.00 MΩ
+/- (1.0% rdg + 2 LSD)
@ 4 kΩ to 400 kΩ ranges
Capacitance 40.00 nF, 400.0 nF,
4.000 μF, 40.00 μF, 400.0 μF,
4000 μF
+/- (3.0% rdg + 5 LSD)
@ 400 nF to 40 μF ranges
Temperature -40 ⁰F to 1832 ⁰F
-40 ⁰C to 1000 ⁰C
+/- (1.8% rdg + 6 ⁰F) @ >32 ⁰F to 212 ⁰F
+/- (1.2% rdg + 3 ⁰C) @ >0 ⁰C to 100 ⁰C
Number of temperature inputs Single Thermocouple


For more detailed specifications, please download the product datasheet under the “Resources" tab.
Model NameDescriptionBuy it
AM-530Included Accessories:
  • 9V(6F22) x1 battery installed
  • Test leads
  • Type-K Probe x 1
  • Velcro strap Carrying case
  • Users manual
           
Related Products

5 reviews
 
 Amprobe AM-520 HVAC Multimeter »

3 reviews
 
 Amprobe AM-560 Advanced HVAC Multimeter »

16 reviews
 
 Amprobe AM-570 Industrial Multimeter »

Home  | About Us  |   Privacy Statement  | Site Map  |  Contact Us © 1995 - 2018 Amprobe