Home  |  Products  |  Digital Multimeters  |  AM-500 Digital Multimeter Series  |  

Amprobe AM-500 DIY-PRO Digital Multimeter

Click here to watch video

AM-500
AM-500
AM-500
AM-500
AM-500
This versatile, easy-to-use digital multimeter is a great choice for homeowners or office maintenance staff. Use it to check for voltage in receptacles, extension cords, light fixtures, batteries, and other electrical circuits. Or check fuses, light bulbs, and continuity of electrical connections. You can even use it to verify the voltage level of automotive batteries and troubleshoot electrical problems in cars. With its user-friendly digital multimeter features like autoranging and a CAT III safety rating, the AM-500 will save time and increase measurement confidence.


AM-500 AM-510 AM-520 AM-530 AM-560 AM-570

Multimeter Type Auto-ranging Com / Res HVAC Electrical Adv. HVAC Industrial
F
U
N
C
T
I
O
N
Safety Rating Safety CAT III 600V CAT III 600V CAT III 600V CAT III 600V CAT IV 600V
CAT III 1000
CAT IV 600V
CAT III 1000
Measure voltage in noisy environments True rms



Electrical panels, AC outlets AC Voltage (V) 600 600 600 600 1000 1000
DC systems, auto/marine batteries DC Voltage (V) 600 600 600 600 1000 1000
AC Current - electrical panels, appliances AC Current (A) 10 10 10 10 10 10
DC Current-electronics, DC motors DC Current (A) 10 10 10 10 10 10
Specified resistance and continuity Resistance (MOhms) 20 40 40 40 60 60
Flame sensors Microamps
Diodes in AC to DC converters Diode Test
Fuses, lightbulbs, wire connections Continuity
Household batteries Battery test



Motor startup or run capacitors Capacitance
Frequency verification Frequency
Non-contact voltage test Non-contact voltage
Electrical load-time on vs time off Duty cycle


Temp of air vents, fuses, transformers Temperature inputs

1 1 2 2
F
E
A
T
U
R
E
S
Automatically selects measurement range Autoranging
Manually select measurement range Manual ranging
Voltage on variable frequency drives Low pass filter



Detect stray voltages Low Z




Dimly lit areas Built-in flashlight
D
I
S
P
L
A
Y
Meter resolution LCD Counts 2,000 4,000 4,000 4,000 6,000 6,000
Dimly lit areas Backlight
Monitoring fast changing signals Bar graph

Two relative measurements on one screen Dual display



E
V
E
N
T
S
Data memory Data hold
Difference between two measurements Relative reading
Max/min peak measurement Max/min hold

Specialized signal measurements Peak hold (crest)



Amprobe AM-500 DIY-PRO Digital Multimeter is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 21.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Has what is all needed for most people and applications This is mostly for commerical rough and tough use of the product because it lasts so long on rough usage. Aesthetics could be better
Date published: 2018-08-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product! Great piece of equipment. Easy to use for both the seasoned veterans and beginners alike. Would highly recommend!
Date published: 2018-08-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great meter, very solid I'm not an electrician so I haven't really put this thing through its paces but so far it has been super useful at checking battery voltages or if a wire is live. The probes don't feel cheap and the meter itself feels substantial.
Date published: 2018-07-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product features I've used this multimeter for the last year and it's always been useful and reliable.
Date published: 2018-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this meter it is my go to even over my fluke or craftsman I love this meter never had a single problem out of it. Easy to use and read i mainly do automotive testing and mainly look for power at a certain wire so i havent really gotten in to may of its features (i could uses a test light for most of my wor but like a mter over that method) i have a fluke and craftsman meter aswel but 9 chance out of 10 i find this meter in my hand over both of them. Over all great product only time will tell it has held up great so far! Overall extremely pleased with this tool (meter)
Date published: 2018-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product!!! Very durable and well made. I would recommend to anyone.
Date published: 2018-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great feature, temperature mode Love the various modes, accurate! Temperature is very accurate!
Date published: 2018-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very teachable to a 13 year old I use this multimeter for my part time repair business and it’s very easy to use and I’m enjoying showing my thirteen year old son how to use it I like it’s durability and ease of comfort when using and it has done me well and it’s easy to use features have gotten my sons attention it’s very reliable product!!
Date published: 2018-07-12
  • y_2018, m_8, d_19, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_21
  • loc_en_US, sid_74023, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_amprobe
  • Measures voltage to 600V AC/DC, AC/DC current and resistance for residential and office maintenance
  • Audible continuity quickly identifies shorts and open circuits
  • Diode test to verify diode polarity
  • Data hold freezes the reading on the display for further analysis
  • Auto power-off conserves battery life
  • Low battery warning helps avoid losing power in mid-measurement
  • CAT III 600V safety rated to handle residential and commercial office applications
FEATURE AM-500 Best Accuracy
AC Voltage 2.000 V, 20.00 V, 200.0 V, 600 V +/- (1.0 % rdg + 3 LSD)
@ 45 Hz to 400 Hz, 2 V to 200 V ranges
DC Voltage 200 mV, 2.000 V, 20.00 V, 200.0 V, 600 V +/- (0.8% rdg + 1 LSD)
@ 2 V to 200 V ranges
AC Current 200.0 μA, 2000 μA,
20.00 mA, 200.0 mA,
2.000 A, 10.00 A
+/- (1.2% rdg + 2 LSD)
@ 200 μA to 200 mA ranges, 45 Hz to 400 Hz
DC Current 200.0 μA, 2000 μA,
20.00 mA, 200.0 mA,
2.000 A, 10.00 A
+/- (1.0% rdg + 2 LSD)
@ 200 μA to 20 mA ranges
Resistance 200.0 Ω,
2.000 kΩ, 20.00 kΩ, 200.0 kΩ,
2.000 MΩ, 20.00 MΩ
+/- ( (1.0% rdg + 2 LSD)
@ 2 kΩ to 200 kΩ ranges
Battery test 1.5V, 9V +/- (10% rdg + 3 LSD)


For more detailed specifications, please download the product datasheet under the “Resources" tab.
Model NameDescriptionBuy it
AM-500Included Accessories:
  • AAA x2 batteries (installed)
  • Test leads
  • Users manual
           
Related Products

20 reviews
 
 Amprobe AM-510 Commercial/Residential Multimeter »

6 reviews
 
 Amprobe AM-520 HVAC Multimeter »

18 reviews
 
 Amprobe AM-530 True-rms Electrical Contractor Multimeter »

Home  | About Us  |   Privacy Statement  | Site Map  |  Contact Us © 1995 - 2018 Amprobe